County of BEAUFORT



2023 MUNICIPAL

Election Date: 11/07/2023

This is an official notice of an election to be conducted in **BEAUFORT** County on **11/07/2023**. This notice contains a list of all of the ballot measures and federal, State, and local offices this county expects, as of this date, to be on the ballot on the date of the election. (See Attachment)

An Election Notice will be prepared not later than 100 days before a regularly scheduled election that permits absentee voting, and as soon as practicable in the case of an election or vacancy election not regularly scheduled. For a second primary, an Election Notice will be prepared, no later than the day following the date the appropriate board of elections orders that a second primary be held.

As soon as ballot styles are printed, this county board of elections will update this notice with the certified candidates for each office and ballot measures and referenda questions that will be on the ballot. For General Elections during even-numbered years, ballots will be printed **60 days** prior to the election. For statewide primaries and other elections (except municipal elections), ballots will be printed **50 days** prior to the election. Municipal ballots are available **30 days** prior to Election Day. **You must request an updated Election Notice.**

Transmitting a Federal Write-in Absentee Ballot:

This notice may be used in conjunction with the federal write-in absentee ballot (FWAB). Covered military & overseas voters seeking to vote by absentee ballot may use the FWAB to register to vote, request an absentee ballot, and vote an official military-overseas ballot. When using the FWAB to register to vote, and/or request an absentee ballot, please transmit your signed and completed FWAB no later than **5:00 p.m. on the day before Election Day**. If submitted later than this day and time, your absentee ballot will not be counted. Federal write-in absentee ballots are available at <u>www.NCSBE.gov</u>. You may also request a regular absentee ballot by using the federal postcard application (FPCA), available at <u>www.FVAP.gov</u>. A regular ballot can be mailed, faxed or emailed to you. You may return the FWAB or a regular absentee ballot by mail, secure fax (1-919-715-0351) or email (<u>absentee@ncsbe.gov</u>).

Marking a Federal Write-in Absentee Ballot:

When marking a FWAB, for each office for which you wish to vote, write in either a candidate's name or political party designation. For ballot measures or referenda, write either "YES" (you are *for* the ballot measure or referendum) or "NO" (you are *against* the ballot measure or referendum). In a primary, if you are registered as Democrat, Republican or Libertarian, for partisan contests, you may only vote for the candidates of the party for which you are affiliated. You are also eligible to vote for non-partisan contests. If you are registered as unaffiliated ("independent"), in a primary, you may choose to vote for the partisan contests of one of the parties <u>or</u> you may choose to vote for non-partisan contests.

Please check the website for the NC State Board of Elections (<u>www.NCSBE.gov</u>) for additional information on militaryoverseas absentee voting.

NC State Board of Elections

Election Notice Of Contests and Referenda BEAUFORT BOARD OF ELECTIONS (11/07/2023)

BEAUFORT BOARD OF ELECTIONS (11/07/2023)

CANDIDATE NAME	NAME ON BALLOT	PARTY
TOWN OF AURORA COMMISSIONER		
COLEY JORDAN	Coley W. Jordan	
STEPHEN MCCORMACK	Steve McCormack	
TINA TAYLOR	Tina Bass Taylor	
TOWN OF BATH MAYOR		
JAMES LATHAM	James G. (Jimmy) Latham	
TOWN OF BATH COMMISSIONER		
WILLIAM TANKARD	William Keith Tankard	
JOHN TAYLOR	John A. Taylor	
TOWN OF BELHAVEN ALDERMAN EAST E	ND	
STACEY CONNER	Stacey Conner	
NATHANIEL VAN NORTWICK	Nathan Van Nortwick	
VERONICA WARD	Veronica P. Ward	
TOWN OF BELHAVEN ALDERMAN WEST END		
SHANIKA EBRON	Shanika E. Ebron	
TOWN OF CHOCOWINITY COMMISSIONER	2	
JEFFREY HADDOCK	Jeff Haddock	
MICHAEL JONES	Michael (Mike) Jones	
CASEY LANGLEY	Casey Langley	
NATHANIEL WILLIAMS	Nathaniel Williams	
TOWN OF PANTEGO MAYOR		
STUART RICKS	Stuart E. Ricks	
TOWN OF PANTEGO COMMISSIONER		
ORAN BENSON	Mart Benson	
REID GELDERMAN	Reid Gelderman	
JASON KEECH	Chad Keech	
MATTHEW VAN NORTWICK	Matthew Van Nortwick	
CHARLES WILLIAMS	Chuck Williams	
CITY OF WASHINGTON MAYOR		
BOBBY ROBERSON	Bobby E. Roberson	
DONALD SADLER	Donald R. Sadler	
CITY OF WASHINGTON COUNCIL MEMBE	र	
MARY BEEDLE	Mary Beedle	
ELLEN BRABO	Ellen Brabo	
RICHARD BROOKS	Richard Brooks	
GARY CERES	Gary A. Ceres	
ALTON CONGLETON	AJ Congleton	
LINDA HODGES	Lou Hodges	
GLENWOOD HORTON	Antwan Horton	
LEESA JONES	Leesa Payton Jones	
ANDREW MELTON	Andrew (Tex) Melton	
WILLIAM PITT	William H. Pitt	
ANTHONY TYRE	Anthony Tyre	

CANDIDATE NAME	NAME ON BALLOT	PARTY
TOWN OF WASHINGTON PARK MAYOR		
THOMAS RICHTER	Thomas B. (Tom) Richter	
TOWN OF WASHINGTON PARK COMMISSIONER		
WALTER BOWEN	Lee Bowen	
BELINDA COWELL	Belinda Cowell	
KATHERINE CREECH	Katie Creech	
ROBERT DALE	Wade Dale	
JEFFREY PEACOCK	Jeff Peacock	
VAIL RUMLEY	Vail Stewart Rumley	